menu icon
Book your open day visit nowClick to book open day

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Application details

The Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission with funding from UK Department of International Development (DFID), and UK universities, to support scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom. 

Eligible programmes

  • Full-time MSc Development Studies
  • Full-time MSc Environment, Politics and Development
  • Full-time MSc Migration Mobility and Development
  • Part-time programmes are not eligible.

Candidate criteria

In order to be eligible, applicants should:

Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
Be available to start their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2023
By September 2023, hold a first degree of at least upper second-class (2:1) honours standard, or a lower second-class degree (2:2) and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)
Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high-income country
Be unable to afford to study in the UK university without this Scholarship
Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format

Award level


Awarding body

SOAS University of London

Award type

Mature students

Number of awards


Gender eligibility


View all scholarships at SOAS University of London

Browse all courses at SOAS University of London