menu icon
Specialist Practice Community MSc (PGDip)

Specialist Practice Community MSc (PGDip)

Key information

Qualification type

MSc - Master of Science

Subject areas

Health Studies Community Nursing Community Health Care Administration

Course type


Course Summary

Course overview

Specialist practitioners are defined as leaders who are able to exercise higher levels of judgement and discretion. This course provides student-centred and interdisciplinary opportunities for the development of a critically informed specialist practitioner in community nursing who will be instrumental in changing and developing nursing practice, and who will be a leader of their profession.

Why study this course with us?

The overarching aim of our course is to produce a competent, independent community practitioner working at postgraduate level, capable of promoting the development and delivery of community nursing practice across a variety of settings.

Pathways include:

  • District Nursing
  • Mental Health Nursing
  • Learning Disability Nursing
  • General Practice Nursing
  • Community Childrens’ Nursing

The course is 50% theory and 50% practice and this is integrated across the duration of the course. You will undertake the theoretical component in the University, and undertake the practice component in a community setting under the supervision of a qualified Practice Assessor and Practice Supervisor from the defined area of practice.

Different course options

Full time | Riverside Campus | 2 years | OCT-20

Study mode

Full time


2 years

Start date


Tuition fees

UK fees
Course fees for UK / EU students

Please contact university and ask about this fee

Average for all Postgrad courses (per year)


International fees
Course fees for non-UK / EU students

Please contact university and ask about this fee

Average for all Postgrad courses (per year)


Entry requirements

- Registration on the appropriate part of the NMC register - Completion of an honours degree in nursing or a health-related field - Normally, a minimum of two years’ post-registration experience - Successful/undertaking completion of a Level 6 Mentorship module - Support from the sponsoring trust or organisation - Evidence of practice in a closely related area of specialism

University information

From a teaching college established in 1839, to becoming the University of Chester in 2005, over 180 years of academic growth has allowed the University to offer an extensive selection of postgraduate courses and research options across a number of specialist sites. This includes five sites in and around Chester, a campus in Warrington, a University Centre in Shrewsbury, and a new health and nursing education facility, Marriss House, in...more